London

In wenigen Hauptstädten gibt es eine so emotionale Bindung zum Laufen wie in London. Egal, ob man beim weltbekannten Marathon mitgelaufen ist oder eine einmalige Spritztour in die grünste Großstadt Europas macht, jeder findet seine eigene Route durch einen Park.

Solche Sight Seeing Möglichkeiten bringen hohe Erwartungen mit sich – und manchmal auch ein paar Herausforderungen. Um öffentlich 3 Meilen zu fahren, kann es 30 Minuten dauern – also lass die U-Bahnstationen stehen, schnüre deine Sauconys zusammen und lauf dort hin.

Wenn man in London laufen geht ist es unmöglich, nicht über die atemberaubenden Anblicke zu staunen – von den hellen Lichtern der Stadt bis zu den imposanten Mauerwerken von weltbekannten Gebäuden. Erlebe die Stadt durch die Augen von drei Locals…

Lerne unsere Influencer kennen

Southbank

  • Hang Out

Einige der besten Aussichten befinden sich auf der Südseite der Themse. Wenn Du ein Fan der Kunst bist, gibt es keinen besseren Ort. Mit Kunstschauplätzen der Extraklasse wie dem Southbank Centre, National Theatre und dem BFI Film Theatre wird deutlich, warum viele Londoner ihre Sommerabende auf den Bänken entlang der Themse verbringen.

Wenn du es lieber ruhig angehen lässt, dann mach‘ einen morgendlichen Lauf entlang der Southbank, um einen guten Blick auf Londons Wahrzeichen – London Eye und Big Ben – zu bekommen.

St Paul’s Cathedral

  • Hang Out

Eine der berühmtesten Attraktionen Londons mit großem Wiedererkennungswert ist die St. Paul’s Kathedrale. Seit über 300 Jahren dominiert diese ikonische Kuppel die Skyline der Stadt. In dem architektonischen Meisterwerk von Sir Christopher Wren wurden schon einige angesehene religiöse Zeremonien der Britischen Geschichte ausgerichtet.

Die Kathedrale ist von der Southbank aus erreichbar. Wenn man über die Millennium Bridge geht, kann man sie in voller Pracht bewundern.

 

Borough Market

  • Hang Out

Feinschmecker können sich hier auf ein kulinarisches Mekka zum Brunch freuen. Der Borough Market bietet großartigen Kaffee, Kuchen und Käse – um nur eine kleine Auswahl zu nennen. Nachdem man sich an einem Essenstand gestärkt hat, kann man einen der frischesten Tees der Stadt genießen.

Der Handel auf dem Borough Markt findet schon seit dem 12. Jahrhundert an ein und demselben Platz statt.

Tate Modern

  • Hang Out

Tate Modern ist einer der beeindruckendsten Plätze in London. Man findet dort einige der neusten und großartigsten internationalen modernen und zeitgenössischen Kunstwerke.

Verliere dich beim Schlendern durch die Turbine Hall und The Tanks. Aber nicht nur die Aussichten in dem Gebäude sind fantastisch. Die Tate Modern bietet eine der besten Panoramaaussichten der Stadt.

1Rebel

  • Work Out

Manchmal kann man beim Laufen alles um einen herum vergessen. Um ein guter Läufer zu sein, muss man beweglich, schnell und fit sein. 1Rebel ist eines von Londons coolsten Fitnessstudios.

Bereite dich auf intensive 45 Minuten vor. Anstrengung von der Du dachtest, dass sie nicht möglich wäre. Das High Intensity Training ist darauf ausgelegt, Kondition zu verbessern und einzelen Muskelgruppen zu definieren.

"Nicht die Mauern machen die Stadt aus, sondern die Leute, die darin leben. Die Mauern von London mögen angeschlagen sein, aber der Geist der Londoner bleibt unberührt.“
King George V

Buckingham Palace

  • Hang Out

Man kann nicht nach London fahren und nicht das Zuhause der bekanntesten Einwohnerin besuchen. Der Buckingham Palace ist nicht nur der Wohnsitz der Queen, sondern auch einer von Londons beliebtesten Laufstrecken. Hier biegen die Läufer das letzte Mal um die Kurve bevor sie über The Mall zur Ziellinie laufen und die Medaille des London Marathons erhalten.

London Eye

  • Hang Out

Das London Eye wurde designed, um die Jahrtausendwende zu feiern. Heute ist es ein Muss auf der To-do Liste eines jeden Touristen. Egal, ob du es dir von oben anschaust oder aus der Entfernung betrachtest, es ist eindeutig Instagramable.

Ein inoffizielles Ende der geschäftigen Strecke der Southbank. Von hieraus kannst Du einen ungestörten, ruhigen Lauf entlang der Themse machen.

Das London Eye ist Europas größtes Riesenrad.

“Wenn einem in London langweilig wird, wird einem das ganze Leben langweilig. London ist alles, was das Leben zu bieten hat.“
Samuel Johnson

Regent’s Park

  • Work Out

London ist bekannt für seine königlichen Parks sind in der Stadt wie Zum Beispiel der Hyde Park oder der St. James Park. Das macht das Laufen durch das Zentrum von London so schön. Der Regent’s Park bietet dem Besucher am meisten. Man kann entweder von dem Getümmel der Innenstadt entfliehen oder von ruhigeren Ecken wie St. Johns Wood oder Camden über den Regent’s Canal laufen. Durch den ganzen Park ist ein Netzwerk von Trails, Wegen und Wasserwegen zu finden.

“Die englische Sprache ist wie London: stolz barbarisch aber äußerst zivilisiert - ebenso gewöhnlich wie königlich – vulgär wie edel - heilig aber gottlos.“
Stephen Fry

Camden

  • Hang Out

In Norden Londons wird dir Camden den Atem rauben. Von lebendiger Straßenkunst bis hin zu einer Livemusik-Szene – dem Getümmel und dem Trubel in diesem Stadtteil kann man nicht entkommen. Besuche sowohl Camden Lock als auch den Street Market, wo du eine Kombination von gutem Essen und Vintagekleidung findest.

Frühere Bewohner von Camden waren der angesehene Autor Sir Charles Dickens und die legendäre Sängerin Amy Winehouse.

Brick Lane

  • Hang Out

Früher ein bekanntes Slum und der Tatort von Jack The Rippers grausamen Taten – heute ist Brick Lane im Osten von London ein Hotspot für die kreative Szene der Stadt.

Brick Lane ist wegen seiner Boutique Shops, Vintage Clothing und Curry Houses berühmt. Das Publikum ist jung und chillt vor einer Kulisse von feinster Straßenkunst – mit Graffiti von Künstlern wie Banksy und Ben Eine.

Old Truman Brewery

  • Go Out

Früher war es Londons größte Brauerei. Heute sind in der Old Truman Brewery Shops, Bars und Restaurants zu finden – nicht weit entfernt von Brick Lane.

„In Bruchstücken ist die Stadt nichts, aber insgesamt ist sie gigantisch.“
Charlotte Riddell

Hoi Polloi and Ace Hotel

  • Go Out

Der Name, der so viel bedeutet wie „die Leute“, lädt dazu ein, Teil der Crowd zu sein und hier zu essen. Wandvertäfelungen, helles Licht und stylische Gesellschaft macht Hoi Polloi zur perfekten Location bevor die Partynacht startet.

Im Stadtteil Shoreditch sind beispielsweise die exquisiten geschmorten Short Ribs oder gebackene Polenta Gnocchi sehr zu empfehlende Gerichte.

#RUNYOURWORLDLONDON

Loading…

London

When it comes to capital cities and running, few places have as much of an emotional tie as London. Whether you’ve run in the world famous marathon or simply enjoyed a one-off jaunt in the greenest major city in Europe, everyone seems to have their park and their own route.

With such great opportunities to explore comes great expectations, and often a small sense of bewilderment. It can take you 30 minutes to cover three miles on public transport, so why not ditch the tube stops and red buses to lace up your Sauconys and run there.

When running in London, it’s impossible not to be caught gawping at the sights – from the bright lights of the city to the bold brickwork of some of the world’s most famous buildings. Discover many of the city’s gems through the eyes of three locals…

MEET OUR BLOGGERS

natwinter_

I’m a fashion photographer and blogger and mainly focus on the awesome street style in London. The best thing about the city is the variation of style, everywhere you go, you find amazing, individual style.

FIND OUT MORE

gracerunsldn

My day job is at a major children’s hospital in London. I’m a born and bred Londoner on a running and fitness journey. London is the best city in the world, but of course, I would say that.

FIND OUT MORE

richwillrun

I’m a member of local London run crew, Run Dem Crew, and on a mission to run a sub three marathon. For me, the sheer size of London is the best thing, there’s always somewhere new to run.

FIND OUT MORE

Southbank

  • Hang Out

Some of the greatest sights in the city lie on the south of the river – if you’re into the arts there is no greater place to be. With world-class arts venues such as the Southbank Centre, National Theatre and BFI Film Theatre it’s easy to see why many Londoners choose to waste away their summer evenings on the banks of the Thames.

If you prefer to take a walk on the quieter side, then take an early morning jog down Southbank for a closer look at iconic landmarks like the London Eye and Big Ben.

St Paul’s Cathedral

  • Hang Out

One of the most famous and recognisable sights of London, St Paul’s Cathedral has been dominating the city’s skyline with its iconic dome for over 300 years. Having hosted some of the most prestigious religious ceremonies in British history, this is a an architectural masterpiece from Sir Christopher Wren.

The Cathedral is easily accessible from Southbank – just head across Millennium Bridge to see it in all its glory.

“The man who can dominate a London dinner-table can dominate the world.”
Oscar Wilde

Borough Market

  • Hang Out

A foodies delight, enjoy exploring this culinary mecca for brunch. Borough Market is the home of great coffee, cake and cheese to name just a few. As well as refuelling at one of the many food stalls, this is the perfect place to pick up some of the freshest produce in the city for tea.

Borough Market trading has been taking place on this very spot since 12th Century.

Tate Modern

  • Hang Out

Home to some of the latest and greatest international modern and contemporary art, Tate Modern is one of most striking venues in London.

Take a stroll and lose yourself as you wander through the vast display spaces of the Turbine Hall and The Tanks. It’s not all about the views inside the building. Head to the viewing level for one of the best panoramic views in town.

1Rebel

  • Work Out

To be a good runner you need to be flexible, fast and fit. Sometimes you can put in all the miles on the road and forget everything else. Break the trend at the new face of fitness, 1Rebel, one of London’s coolest exercise studios.

Prepare yourself for an intense 45 minutes. Exertion that you never thought possible. This sweaty group exercise class is designed to condition and resculpt selected muscle-groups.

“It is not the walls that make the city, but the people who live within them. The walls of London may be battered, but the spirit of the Londoner stands resolute and undismayed.”
King George V

Buckingham Palace

  • Hang Out

You can’t go to London and not pay a visit to the home of city’s most famous resident. As well as being the Queen’s London residence, Buckingham Palace is one of the city’s most famous running stretches. It is here that runners take on the final turn, before heading down The Mall to cross the finishing line and receive their London Marathon medals.

It’d be rude not to recreate a famous dash down The Mall while you’re there.

London Eye

  • Hang Out

Designed to celebrate the turn of the millenium, The London Eye has become a mainstay in every tourist’s bucket list. Whether you choose to take to the skies or simply take it in from a distance, this is ranks highly in Instagramability.

An unofficial end to the busy stretch of the Southbank, from here you can enjoy a peaceful and uninterrupted run along the Thames Path.

The London Eye is Europe’s tallest Ferris Wheel.

"When a man is tired of London, he is tired of life; for there is in London all that life can afford."
Samuel Johnson

Regent’s Park

  • Work Out

London is blessed with green spaces. Several royal parks sprawl across the city, from Hyde Park to St James’s Park, which makes running in Central London so accessible and enjoyable. Few London parks can claim to offer the visitor as much as Regent’s Park. Enter the great green space either from the hustle and bustle of central London or the more calmer corners of St Johns Wood or Camden using Regents Canal. Throughout the park you will find a network of trails, paths and open water views.

"The English language is like London: proudly barbaric yet deeply civilised, too, common yet royal, vulgar yet processional, sacred yet profane."
Stephen Fry

Camden

  • Hang Out

Rooted in North London, Camden is an attack on the senses. From vibrant street art to a famous live music scene, the hustle and bustle of the borough is not to be missed. Be sure to visit both Camden Lock itself and the street market, where you will find a combination of great food and vintage clothing.

Former Camden residents include the esteemed author, Sir Charles Dickens and legendary singer, Amy Winehouse.

Brick Lane

  • Hang Out

Formerly a famous slum and scene of the crime of the Jack The Ripper murders, Brick Lane in East London is now one of the hotspots of the city’s creative scene.

Brick Lane is famed for it’s boutique shops, vintage clothing and curry houses. Expect to see a young crowd hanging out against a backdrop of world class street art – with graffiti from artists such as Banksy and Ben Eine.

Old Truman Brewery

  • Go Out

Once home to London’s biggest brewery, the Old Truman Brewery is now a hub of independent shops, bars and restaurants – just off Brick Lane.

“Fragmentarily the City is nothing, but collectively it is gigantic…”
Charlotte Riddell

Hoi Polloi and Ace Hotel

  • Go Out

With a name that means “the people” it’s hard not to want to join the pack and dine here. Wood-panelled, bright lights, stylish company, this is the perfect pre-party eating location.

Situated in the suitably sharp area of Shoreditch, mains include the exquisite Braised short rib and baked polenta gnocchi.

#RUNYOURWORLDLONDON

Loading…